North Carolina Irrigation Society Inc.

When was NCISI Started and Why?

The North Carolina Irrigation Society was established in 1964 for the purpose of promoting irrigation through sound practices and to promote good understanding of irrigation. Since then the society has provided a forum for addressing irrigation related issues in North Carolina through annual conferences and business meetings. The organization desires to keep interested parties informed and to promote education and special training for everyone associated with the manufacture, distribution, installation and application of modern agricultural irrigation equipment. The North Carolina Irrigation Society is a non-profit organization and a member society of the Irrigation Association.


What are the Objectives of the Irrigation Society?

  • Promote the development, proper design, use and acceptance of irrigation in the state.
  • Promote soil and water conservation, to increase yields and to improve the quality of crops through the use of irrigation.
  • Collect and disseminate information regarding irrigation to members of the society, allied industries, organization, agencies and the general public through workshops, field days, tours, shows, and the distribution of educational materials.
  • Promote a spirit of cooperation among organization, institutions and agencies concerning problems confronting the irrigation industry, making sure not to compromise the interests of irrigators and the policies of the Society.


Check Out Information about the Upcoming Conference Here.



How can I become a member?

The only window of time to join is during the annual conference registration period (late September through October). Please use the conference registration page to join. Students interested in irrigation are encouraged to join. Thank You.

When is my membership up?

Membership is yearly. You must renew your membership during the annual conference registration period.

How can I be listed on this page?

Sign-up will be listed on this page at the Annual Irrigation Conference in early November. Listing is voluntary and for the purpose of networking and exchange of knowledge.

Member List

Name Company Email
Sheldon Alt
John Barr NCDEQ
Eric Batchelor City of Raleigh
Jerry Baughman Gerald R. Baughman, PE
Clyde Bogle NCDA&CS-Research Stations-Upper Coastal Plain Res S
Lee Brock Brock Equipment co inc
Tyler Brock Brock Equipment co inc
Derek Brown Smithfield
Ed Bullard Ed Bullard Irrigation
William carr RFID Farm
Daphne Cartner NC DA&CS Division of Soil & Water Conservation
Richard Currin NC State University
Thomas Cutts
Bynum Driggers
Carl Dunn NCDA Divison of Soil and Water Conservation
Amy Elmore Smithfield
Robert Evans NC State University
Reid Evans NCSU Agricultural Research
Neal Floyd Neal C. Floyd & Associates
Ihab Ghali NC State University
Wiley Gillam Gillam & Mason, Inc.
Bradley Gillam Gillam & Mason, Inc.
Garry Grabow NC State University
Angela Greene Gragg Watauga Engineering, PLLC
Jason Graham Gra-Mac Irrigation
David Graham Gra-Mac Irrigation
Larry Graham Environmental Engineering Services
Cathy Herring Central Crops Research Station
Steve Honeycutt City of Raleigh steve.honeycutt@raleighnc.go
Matthew Jackson Quality Equipment mjackson@QUALITYEQUIP.COM
Toni King Smithfield
Travis Lassiter NCSU Central Crops Research Station
George Mainor Mainor Tile & Irrigation
Jeremy Martin Sandhills Research Station
Tracy McLamb City of Raleigh
Scott Mitchell Timmons Group
David Nordin Smithfield
Dick Phillips Prof. Engr,
Mark Rice North Carolina State University
Terri Ruch USDA-NRCS
Cindy Safrit NCDA – Division of Soil and Water Conservation
Karl Shaffer Shaffer Soil Sewrvices, Inc.
Paul Sherman NC Farm Bureau
Ronald Sneed Retired
Robert Vick NC State University
Stephen Wadsworth Smithfield
Kevin Weston Smithfield
Dawn Williamson Smithfield


Board Members: Executive Officers


Michael Shepherd
Environmental Senior Specialist

Division of Soil and Water Conservation

NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Vice President

Jim Lynch


Christine Lawson

Technical Advisor/Treasurer

Chadi Sayde
Assistant Professor
NCSU – Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Campus Box 7625
Raleigh, NC 27695-7625


Chad Poole
NCSU – Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Campus Box 7625
Raleigh, NC 27695-7625

Past President

Paul Sherman

Board of Directors: Members

Ron Sneed

Clyde Bogle

Jason Graham

Jeremy Martin

Marla Dalton

George Mainor